Elizabeth Eisenstein Essay Prize 2022
The submissions received spanned a number of Humanities discipline, and two in particular stood out to all committee members as very excellent papers.  After careful consideration, the committee reached unanimous agreement as follows:
Winner: Gianncarlo Muschi, for  “U.S.-Peruvian Business Relations and Their Effects on the Pioneer Migration of Peruvians to Paterson, New Jersey 1920–1950”.  The Latin Americanist, Volume 65, Number 2, June 2021, pp. 286-311.  
Runner-up: Vanessa Mongey, for “Protecting Foreigners: The Refugee Crisis on the Belize–Yucatán Border, 1847–71”. Law and History Review, February 2021, Vol. 39, No. 1.
The winner will receive a $350USD honorarium, and both authors will be invited to give permission for their papers to be reprinted in a forthcoming issue of The Independent Scholar.
The other three submissions did not meet the high standards of the winning papers, but all had merit.  The Committee proposes that these authors be encouraged to submit new papers for publication in TIS (based upon these submissions and written for the broader NCIS membership), 
Respectfully submitted,
Joan Cunningham, PhD
Chair, NCIS Awards Committee

Contact us

National Coalition of Independent Scholars