NCIS Grants

NCIS members can apply for several forms of funding:

  • NCIS Conference Support Grants
  • NCIS Research Grants
  • Elizabeth Eisenstein Essay Prize
  • Pass-through grants administered by NCIS



To qualify for an NCIS Conference Support Grant or an NCIS Research Grant, an applicant must have been a Full Member (or president of an affiliate group) in good standing for a minimum of 18 consecutive months at the date of the grant award deadline. NB Associate members are not eligible for these grants.

Conference Support Grant

Research Grant

  • February 1: Spring Award
  • June 1: Summer Award
  • October 1:  Fall Award

Members will be reminded about these grants on or about January 1, May 1, and September 1 through social media and member mailings. However, applications are accepted throughout the year. Please check the guidelines before applying.

If you have any queries feel free to contact us at

Thanks to the generosity of the Center for Independent Study (CIS) in New Haven, which served the independent scholar community from 1977–2017, we are now able to offer three grant cycles per year (see above for deadlines).



[Sponsored by NCIS and the family of Professor Eisenstein]

The Elizabeth Eisenstein Prize is awarded annually for the best academic journal article or book chapter published by a member of NCIS. The Prize brings the winner an honorarium of $350. Subject to the relevant permissions, the winning essay will be reprinted in The Independent Scholar. The Eisenstein Prize was established in April 1993 and is named for Elizabeth Lewisohn Eisenstein (1923–2016), professor of History at American University and the University of Michigan, and mother of Margaret DeLacy, one of NCIS’s founders, in recognition of Professor Eisenstein's long-standing support of NCIS.


- The article must have been published in a peer reviewed journal or edited academic book within the last two years.

- An article may only be submitted once for the Eisenstein Prize.

- All authors must be Full or Associate Members of NCIS, whether the authorship is single or multiple. 

- New members may apply - there is no requirement to have been a member for a set period of time.

- Any author awarded first place may not enter again in the year following their award, although runners up may do so. 

The deadline for submissions is April 30 each year, and NCIS members wishing to submit a published article for consideration should send a copy of the article to the Chairperson of the Awards Committee at as a PDF attachment to an email, to arrive by the stated deadline. 



NCIS administers pass-through grants, including those that fund individuals at the discretion of donors who wish to remain anonymous. Recipients must be members of NCIS at Full or Associate level, but can apply immediately after membership has been Full or Associate level, but can apply immediately after membership has been granted.


Can we help you with a third-party grant? Because NCIS holds a not-for-profit status, NCIS may administer pass-through grants that require an institution. Recipients must be members of NCIS at Full or Associate level, but can apply immediately after membership has been granted.

For more information please contact us at

Contact us

National Coalition of Independent Scholars