Dr Joan Cunningham, Chair of the Eisenstein Essay Prize Committee writes:
The Elizabeth Eisenstein Essay Prize Committee has made our decision for 2020.  This was not easy, as we had many excellent submissions, and the range of topics and fields of expertise was extremely broad, reflecting of course the diverse NCIS membership. This breadth is evident in the topics of the choices for 1st and 2nd place.
The winner for 2020 is “Peace, Justice and Inclusive Institutions: Overcoming Challenges to the Implementation of Sustainable Development Goal 16”, by Kempe Ronald Hope Sr. (USA).
Runner up is “Money and the Gift in the Novels of Mildred Taylor and Cynthia Voigt”, by Sarah Hardstaff (GREAT BRITAIN).
We send our hearty congratulations to them both, and hope to reprint the winning papers in future issues of The Indpendent Scholar (TIS), assuming that permission can be obtained from their publishers. 
The Elizabeth Eisenstein Prize is awarded annually for the best academic journal article or book chapter published by a member of NCIS. The Prize brings the winner an honorarium of $350. The Eisenstein Prize was established in April 1993 and is named for Elizabeth Lewisohn Eisenstein (1923–2016), Professor of History at American University and the University of Michigan, and mother of Margaret DeLacy, one of NCIS’s founders, in recognition of Professor Eisenstein's long-standing support of NCIS. Details can be found on www.ncis.org/grants, and queries should be directed to grants@ncis.org
Photo: Professor Elizabeth Eisenstein

Contact us

National Coalition of Independent Scholars