2018 Eisenstein Winners Announced

We are delighted to be able to announce the winners of the 2018 Elizabeth Eisenstein Essay Prize, which once again drew a strong field. The Review Committee, chaired by Dr Joan Cunningham, were impressed with the quality of the submissions, of which two emerged as clear front runners. As last year, the Review Committee were unable to choose one over the other, so rather than a winner and runner-up, they have named two joint winners, who will divide the prize money equally between them.
The winners are, in alphabetical order, Amanda Haste (France) and Janet Smith (Great Britain). Their winning essays were: 
Haste, Amanda. “Conflict and reparation: The agency of music in modern monastic community dynamics.” Music and Arts in Action Vol. 5 Issue 2 (2016): 39-51. http://musicandartsinaction.net/index.php/maia/article/view/conflictandreparation.
Janet Smith, “Helen Taylor’s work for land nationalisation in Great Britain and Ireland 1879–1907: Women’s political agency in the British Victorian land movement, Women's History Review Vol. 27 (Aug. 2018): 778-798. DOI: 10.1080/09612025.2017.1366968 https://doi.org/10.1080/09612025.2017.1366968

Contact us

National Coalition of Independent Scholars